The GROUPS section is the social hub of iDoRecall (iDR). This is where students, friends, and colleagues can come together to create a study group and tackle a subject or topic of interest. GROUPS is also where a teacher can create a group as a class for their students.

A group has its own LIBRARY and RECALLS sections. Depending on the privileges set by the group's owner, members can share recalls and library items with the group. All members of the group can clone content from the group's Recalls and Library lists. They can then use that material for their own purposes. When a member clones a recall from the group, that recall becomes subject to the spaced-repetition algorithm and is scheduled for practice accordingly.

A GROUP is not intended to be used as a tool for organizing one's own recalls or library items. GROUPS is only intended to be used for social collaboration with other iDR users.

Here's a 60-second overview of groups before we dive deeper.

The three fundamental activities of the GROUPS section are...

  1. Creating a new group or joining an existing group.

  2. Sharing recalls and library items with a group.

  3. Cloning recalls and library items from a group to use in your personal iDR account.

Let's go into the GROUPS section of iDR for a quick tour

Here we have clicked the GROUPS tab and are looking into the GROUPS section

The GROUPS section of iDR

The light green panel on the left lists all of your groups that you have created or joined. The white center panel provides some general information about groups. The right, light gray panel is where you create or join a group.

Here's a closeup of the top portion of this user's groups list. The Bioethics groups was clicked to open its available sections.

An example of a list of a user's groups

The About page of the Bioethics group is in view., shown in the white center panel. Here you can click to copy the invite URL. If you share it with others, they can join that group if the owner permits.

The About page of this group.

Anyone who has a copy of a group's invite URL can share it with anyone in the world.

If you receive an invite URL, paste it into the Have a group invite code? below.

The create and join groups functions.

If someone receives an invite URL and they do not yet have an iDR account, when they paste that URL in their browser or click it in an email or SMS, they will be taken through the usual signup flow to create an iDoRecall free account. When they enter their account for the first time, they will be shown a page describing the group and they can then click to join that group if they like.

If you want to create a group, click the CREATE NEW GROUP button and this form will open in the center panel.

The create new group form.

It is a good idea to fill in your first and last name here if not already prefilled so that the folks that you invite to the group will recognize you and your activities within the group over time.

If you prefer to approve entry into the group of everyone who receives the invite URL, click the first checkbox.

If you don't want the members of the group to be able to share recalls and library content with the group, uncheck the second checkbox. Generally, only teachers might be interested in being the sole creators of the group's content.

You should name your group and optionally you can give the group its own avatar or image, such as the logo of your school or whatever inspires you. When you finish creating the group, you will be shown the group's invite URL to disseminate to the people that you want to join.

When members share library content, the group owner must approve the submission before it gets added to the group's Library list. This is because there is a tendency by members to add duplicate files to the library.

When a member opens either the Library or Recalls lists, they can see the shared content, open individual items, and clone them if they want. They can see who shared each item and how many times each has been cloned.

Below, a shared recall, in the group's RECALLS, has been opened and can be cloned to your personal account.

A group's library list with a recall opened for inspection.

The GROUPS lists can be searched, sorted and if one or more items are selected, bulk cloning is enabled.

Here's how to share a file or video with a group.

The same general principles apply to sharing recalls.

Recalls can be shared from the recall creation and edit forms...

Share with group field in recall create and edit forms.

and by selecting one or more recalls in your RECALLS list and then clicking the Share with group tool that appears under the search box.

Click share with group.

Some key final points about groups

  1. If you clone a recall from a group that has a source link to some file or video, that source link will function as expected in your account, even though that source hasn't added to your library.

  2. If a member shares a recall with a group and subsequently edits that recall in their personal account, those edits do not alter the already shared copy in the group. Each shared recall in the group is the unique version that existed at the time of sharing. If the donor wishes to place a newer version of that recall in the group, they should delete the original copy from the group and then reshare the updated version from their account.

  3. If a member clones a recall from the group and then edits it, the copy in the group's RECALLS list is not altered.

  4. When you share a library file or video with a group, no linked recalls or other annotations will be included. Only a clean copy of that content is shared.

  5. You can't directly practice the group's recalls from within the group. If you want to practice the group's recalls, you have to clone them into your account.

  6. You can't create linked recall on library files that you open in the group's Library list. These files are view-only and shown for your inspection so that you can decide if you want to clone them.

  7. The group's owner, the person who created the group, can deputize members to become moderators. Teachers, for instance, may want an assistant to help them manage the group. Owners can remove moderator privileges at a late point in time.

  8. Owners and moderators can allow in new prospective members who use the invite URL to enter the group. They can also remove any ordinary member or shared content.

  9. If the owner leaves their group or deletes their iDR account, the group will continue to exist but all members will be elevated to moderator status. Any member, including the owner, who leaves the group or deletes their iDR account, will be given the option to remove their shared content from the group. Any of their shared content that has already been cloned will not be removed from those members' personal accounts.

Did this answer your question?